Ayurveda IloveIndia

Find more on Health & Fitness at Lifestyle Lounge

According to Ayurveda doshas are of vital importance. Here are its significance and functions.


Digestion System
Doshas play a vital role in the basic foundation of Ayurveda. They are responsible for coordinating and directing all the substances and structures of the body. According to Ayurveda there are three vital principles, which regulate and control the biological functions of the body. They are known as Vata, Pitta and Kapha. They are the subtle forms of the three bhutas -air, fire and water. It is very important to maintain a proper balance between the three as any disturbance or imbalance in their equilibrium can lead to several kinds of ailments and diseases.

Three Doshas Of Ayurveda
The three doshas in Ayurveda - vata dosha, pitta dosha and kapah doah, are invariably connected with life as it is found that the dead body and the other inanimate objects have none of the three doshas. As all of three doshas have their own significance and qualities, which are contrary to each other, a balance between all the three of them is required so as to maintain the equilibrium. Factors that create a balance between the tridoshas are healthy diet, regular exercise, fine digestion, and elimination of toxins.

Vata Dosha
Doshas are referred to as 'dynamic energies' and out of all three 'vata dosha' is specified to be kinetic energy. Vata dosha is said to initiate all forms of activity and motion in the body. It acts as a network of communication from tissue to tissue and cell to cell. It is responsible for perception, assimilation and reaction. Vata dosha is the basis of all the communication process in the body. All the motions, transportation and electromagnetic activities are controlled by vata.

Pitta Dosha
Pitta dosha is responsible for all types of transformations in the body. Pitta controls digestion of food as well as conversion of light rays that fall on the retina to electric impulses. It is mainly associated with the chemical reaction and changes taking place in the body. Pitta controls emotion like anger, fear and boldness. Pitta controls digestion of food, it is responsible for hunger, appetite and thirst. The functions of pitta are more physical compare to vata. There are mainly five types of pitta dosha. The quality of Pitta dosha' is most predominant during youth and adulthood. 'Pitta' reflects the dynamics of youth.

Kapah Dosha
Kapah dosha is the third important part of dosha. It is the cohesive energy in the body and it smoothes out problems and provides support when needed. If 'vata' is kinetic energy, then 'kapha' on the contrary is potential energy. Kapha is the principle of water and earth and is thus, heavy and moist. It is said that carbohydrates and fats can increase 'kapha' There are five types of kapha dosha, based on both anatomy and body function. 'Kapha' abnormalities lead to respiratory disease, feeble mindedness, weakness and lethargy.

blt2Ayurveda Concepts
blt2Prakruti & Vikruti
blt2Ashtang Ayurveda
blt2Panchakarma Treatment
blt2Ahar Vihar
blt2Ayurvedic Herbology
blt2Prasuti Tantra
blt2Personal Hygiene
blt2Principles of Ayurveda
blt2Ayurveda Basics